2017 YICU Service Awards

2017 YICU Service Award Winners

Age Group 12-15

  • Carys Lovell, 15, Bloomington, IL
  • Rajeshwari More, 12, Bloomington, IL
  • Savannah Sleevar, 14, Bloomington, IL

Age Group 16-17

  • Bhavana Ravala, 16, Bloomington, IL
  • Caroline Pickering, 17, Bloomington, IL
  • Sankalp Amaravadi, 16, Bloomington, IL

Age Group 18-22

  • Georgi Roll, 18, Bloomington, IL
  • Micah Johnson, 18, Bloomington, IL
  • Sankhya Amaravadi, 22, Bloomington, IL

Team Award

Not In Our School Student Coalition Team - Aishwarya Shekara, Kavya Sudhir, Mihir Bafna, Anniah Watson, Ajitesh Muppuru, Zitlally(Lolly) Arias, Fiona Ward Shaw and Shreeya Malpani

“All the YICU nominees are amazing!  They should all be applauded for their involvement in the community. To say it was difficult choosing award winners in each category is an understatement. They are all winners”, said Deanna Frautschi, YICU selection committee chair

FBT is excited to make a $250 donation towards the following non-profits chosen by the award winners:

  • Not in our Town/School (in honor of Carys Lovell)
  • West Bloomington Revitalization Program (in honor of Rajeshwari More)
  • The Humane Society of Central Illinois (in honor of Savannah Sleevar)
  • Girls Scouts of Central Illinois (in honor of Bhavana Ravala)
  • Child Protection Network (in honor of Caroline Pickering)
  • Unity Community Center (in honor of Sankalp Amaravadi)
  • Immigration Project (in honor of Georgi Roll)
  • Mid Central Community Action (in honor of Micah Johnson)
  • Central Illinois Small Animal Rescue – CISAR (in honor of Sankhya Amaravadi)
  • Not in our school (in honor of Not In Our School Student Coalition team)

Jim Karch, Public Works Director for City of Bloomington received YICU Youth Mentor Award. Jim also serves as a High School Ministry Partner, spending up to 10 hours a month developing high school students on servant leadership. His nominator, Vasu Pinnamaraju describes Jim as “a great husband, father, friend, mentor, leader and a true gentleman. He is a very compassionate person, one who truly cares about people, especially the youth he works with.”

Promise Council, a community non-profit was awarded YICU Youth Advocate Award. Promise Council established in 2009 helps remove barriers to learning so students have the fundamental resources they need to be successful. Promise Council’s nominator, Terri Helregel extols their contributions and explains, “The council currently has a presence in 11 Bloomington-Normal schools however the demand continues to rise. Working with schools, teachers and students has never been more important than it is today.”

2017 YICU Service Award Nominees

2017 YICU Nominees

2017 YICU Nominees

  • Ajitesh Muppuru
  • Amber Hill
  • Amit Sawhney
  • Anusha Bhojanam
  • Arjun Kale
  • Austin Spaulding
  • Bhavana Ravala
  • Breanne Penn
  • Bronwen Boyd
  • Camron Hinman
  • Caroline Pickering
  • Carys Lovell
  • Cieera Ester
  • Danylle Myers
  • Elena Hollingswoth
  • Emily Fienhold
  • Georgi Roll
  • Jasie Keich
  • Jaylyn Haynes
  • Jeffrey Risberg
  • Kaitlyn Stephens
  • Kavya Sudhir
  • Leah Sebade
  • Logan Smith
  • Makayla Castle
  • Manasa Chenna
  • Micah Johnson
  • Nachiketh Rotte
  • Nathaniel Parson
  • Rajeshwari More
  • Rebekah Hermann
  • Sankalp Amaravadi
  • Sankhya Amaravadi
  • Savannah Sleevar
  • Sharanya Rotte
  • Shreeya Malpani
  • Sierra Fields
  • Sky Holland
  • Sky Watson
  • Tristan Bishop
  • Veil Aydoner
  • Wah Chook
  • William Short
  • Zitially Arias

YICU Service Award Team Nominees

  • Not In Our School Student Coalition
  • Bloomington High School Promise Council